Episode 3: The Perfect Tactical Shooter

This week we build the perfect tactical shooter. Now we sit patiently while we wait for our game to blink into existence. Get the podcast from any of the following links:

Direct download
iTunes subscription

RSS Feed

Show notes:

  • Intro
  • The perfect tactical shooter
  • News
  • Signoff

Linkage:

If you like the show, we’d love it it you would leave comments over at iTunes. We’ll definitely give you a shout on the show.

add to del.icio.us :: Digg it :: Stumble It!

4 Responses to Episode 3: The Perfect Tactical Shooter

  1. Novan Leon says:

    Another good podcast guys.

    My main problem with Rainbow Six: Vegas is that the game boiled down to a leaning contest. You mastered half the game by identifying where the leaning spots were (where the head would appear around the corner) and pre-setting your crosshair to that location. The fact that you can peak around the corner (and even aim) without actually peaking and giving away your location just seemed cheap to me. Even saying all this, R6:V is still one of the best TFPS’s that I’ve had the pleasure to play in a very long time. I’m still waiting for someone to develop an innovative method for first-person leaning.

    Concerning environments, I really don’t have so much a problem with the artificial boundaries surrounding the map as I do the “synthetic” layout of the maps themselves. Take COD4 for example: you can enter some buildings and not others, no doors to open/close, every spot on the map has multiple entry points and, I’m not sure how to explain it but, every “path” through the map seems like an artifical segway to another path. In real live buildings/doors/windows/etc. just aren’t so conveniently placed as in the COD4 maps. I understand the artificial barriers surrounding the map as a programming limitation, as long as it’s realistically done so that it doesn’t effect the overall feeling of immersion, I just wish the meat of the maps were more realistic.

    I think sitting around in game lobbies should always be kept to a minimum. I loved games like Counter-Strike (hardly a TFPS) where there wasn’t a lobby at all, the games just kept playing forever and you immediately joined in the next round. I don’t know why other games don’t do this!

    Every game should have a single-player coop mode.

    I totally agree with you about the sound. Good sound is extremely important. This is HUGE in simulating that FEAR that gets the adrenaline rushing. Very very important.

    You pronounced my name right.

    Keep up the good work guys, and… save the orphans!

  2. Mike says:

    Another awesome podcast guys… gets better every week, keep ’em coming.

    Just a quick chime in about the subject matter… RB6:Vegas enjoyed it (PC) for what it was but I found that the environments got very samey very quickly and the contrived situations were a little too over the top especially toward the tail end.
    The whole lack of an open world thing didn’t bother me with RB6 (it’s not that kind of game) but in something like COD where you’re in an open world (as opposed to a building) then it annoys the hell out of me if I’m being honest. Not to diminish the COD series, they’re not trying to be *that* game… just a matter of personal preference.

    I likes my combat open ended, long distance, freeform and sloooooooow 🙂

  3. Chris says:

    Thanks guys!

    You both make great points, and I pretty much agree on all accounts (though I’ll gladly accept the leaning contest in my games 🙂 ). I definitely thought R6:V was way too Hollywood, script-wise. That said, I think the gameplay mechanics were near perfect.

  4. Mike says:

    yeah gotta agree with RB6:V, gameplay wise, for what they set out to achieve and for that sort of game, it was bang on. It really just started to grate on me toward the end when (at the Dam levels iirc) I’d get killed (‘cos I was playing like my Mum ;)) and the self same scripted bad guys would come through the same doors and kill me over and over again – but what they aimed for they hit, the cover system, squad ordering etc. were (for the most part) bang on.

Leave a Reply

