Episode 6: Too Acrade, Too Realistic, And Just Right

This week we discuss the balance of realism, accessiblilty, and fun that tactical games negotiate.  Also noteworthy is the fact that bodily functions are mentioned for the second straight week.

Subscribe via iTunes
Direct download

5 Responses to Episode 6: Too Acrade, Too Realistic, And Just Right

  1. Blackguard Spork says:

    Its almost like you know me… Scary. But talk about escalation. You set the baseline, not me. But yes, BEST EPISODE EVER. The content was good too.

  2. Konraden says:

    I want to know how you guys manage to stretch this out to 54 minutes long. From what I remember, it was like, 12 minutes the first show? Who knows, just finished downloading this episode, will spam your comments with hate mail later.

  3. Martin says:

    We started to discuss bodily functions.

  4. Anderlation says:

    Can a tactical game be too realistic? I mean look at SWAT4. It isfun aswell as realistic and some may argue that it is really realistic. But all of us that are interested in Tactical Gaming want SWAT5, and on Next Gen hardware would be super realistic and great looking. (SWAT4 looks awesome on Very High, Highest Res).

    I found GRAW and GRAW2 to be super realistic yet fun on hard as it instilled fear into the gamer in my opinion. Rainbow Six Vegas was the same in my opinion, and still I find the game great. Some people moan as it is BS, but they probably play it like a run of the mill FPS.

    I don’t mind about what my tactical game is, as long as it is not too arcade, as that to me is run of the mill FPS.

  5. Chris says:

    I wonder if there’s a better way to put it than just saying “too realistic”. This is how we have always framed it, but you bring up a really good point. I think it’s that the interpretation of realism isn’t always fleshed out well in terms of the gameplay mechanic it’s implemented under. I think that the more discriminating you are about adding realism, the more work it is to make sure that still equals good gameplay – because you have some hard and fast rules about what happens when you model the real world, as opposed to being able to make up the world and it’s events based on the idea of having a fun game.

Leave a Reply

